DIY Nappy Purse

A friend of mine is having a baby and I have been racking my brain for a gift for weeks. When I had my own baby I wrote up a list of things I wanted to make for him and so I consulted this list and decided on a nappy wallet. I made myself one first to practice but I am pretty pleased with how it turned out.

(Bare with me I am posting from my phone and I type much faster than the phone likes)

img_1666-2

So here is how I did it:

Firstly I brought quilting squares that match each other I chose a yellow fabric with nuts and bolts for the outer side and a lined fabric for the inner.

Placing the fabrics face down I drew a large rectangle using my wipes purse and nappies as a guide (leaving a half an inch border) I cut out the two pieces of fabric placing one on top of the other to make sure they lined up.

The longer side of the rectangle should measure around 20″and the shorter side 12″ (not including the half an inch border) .

Place the two pieces of fabric together and lay flat. Fold the fabric in on both sides to create pockets and mark out these folds.

12736006_1662470714019854_1645006448_n

In the centre of one end of the fabric (while folded) mark out and make a small cut on the fabric you intend to be on the outside of the wallet. The cut should be small enough to just fit the ends of a thin piece of ribbon.

My ribbon was about 6″, once i thread the ends into the small cut I used a yellow cotton to hand so the hole closed and to hold the ribbon in place.

For the next step I would suggest folding the fabric in half (with the previous folds in tact) you will need to measure how far the ribbon will reach on the opposite side of the outside of the wallet and mark a dot to indicate were to attach your button. (Keep in mind you should account for a full wallet and therefore position the button with extra length of the ribbon remaining).

12735990_1662470697353189_615909388_n

Now that you have attached the ribbon and button to the outer fabric turn the two fabrics inside out place them together and sew around the edges- leave a gap on the end of one of the longer sides so you can turn the fabric in the correct way.

Turn the fabric in the correct way and lay flat. Then fold the fabric to make the pockets again. Sew each outer edge to bind the pockets.

Now you can place your wipes and nappies in the pockets and use πŸ™‚

img_1665

NOTE: Instead of sewing the pockets in you could consider leaving the fabric flat and wrapping your nappies and wipes in the fabric instead this means the fabric could double as a change mat.

Screen Shot 2016-02-10 at 3.00.59 pm

One thought on “DIY Nappy Purse

Leave a Reply

